Posted by: da_nibbler | October 31, 2008

Remake of Forbidden Planet?

What’s up with all the remakes? They are not particularly well done, hardly ever even come close to the original and just seem to be a FX fest extraordinare. Especially when it concerns science fiction. I don’t know where that comes from. Why do people always associate science fiction with cheesy story lines, over the top characters and the main focus on space battles and actions. Since I was a teen reading Asimov and Herbert I encountered these stereotypes, horribly downgrading some of the most amazing writing in world literature. Given what the mainstream saw on tv and at the movies didn’t help much. While I love Star Wars it definitely falls into the cheesy and over the top category, that makes it harder for more pretentious science fiction to be made.

Why am I going on this tangent about science fiction? Because there was one man in the nineties that actually managed to get a pretentious science fiction show made. On a budget of less than $1 million per episode in a time where science fiction shows like Star Trek – Deep Space Nine cost around $2 million an episode. The show was Babylon 5. The man – J. Michael Straczynski.

This man knows how to write a story. He managed to create some of the most fascinating and flawed characters of science fiction tv history. J. Michael Straczynski brought in the story arc element for science fiction shows, where there is no reset button at the end of an episode. You can’t miss an episode or you don’t know what’s going on. Watching his show Babylon 5 was like reading a giant novel, split into five parts. It still is my favorite tv show of all times. And that is saying something. His story arc approach is used by most if not all science fiction shows today. It’s what keeps the viewers on their toes, not missing a single episode.

So why do I bring up this man and his importance concerning science fiction? He is the man writing the script for the remake of Forbidden Planet. His latest piece of work was Clint Eastwood’s Changeling (now in theaters), but he is most known for his science fiction and comic book work. I very rarely pay attention to who is writing a script, but in recent years certain names have stuck out for me for the films they have written that I loved.

Does a certain writer being attached to a film make me want to see it? Maybe. The script is only the first version of a film. It gets changed around many more times before I get to see the final product. Usually the director attached is more crucial to me whether I will go and see something or not. But J. Michael Straczynski is a great writer. I still love the characters he created over fifteen years ago. He has done some amazing revamp work in the comic industry with the titles he has been writing. In short, with J. Michael Straczynski attached I WILL be checking out this remake and I am actually having high hopes for it. Unless the director and/or the studio will kill it. Definitely looking forward to this. Also can’t wait to see the Changeling.

Responses

  1. You are absolutely right. Lost in Space almost made me cry the movie was so bad and The Day The Earth Stood Still doesn’t look like it resembles the original much. I must admit though, I am looking for a well done Six Million Dollar Man movie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

