Posted by: da_nibbler | January 20, 2009

Tropic Thunder

Everyone I know has been telling me what a great, funny and hilarious film Tropic Thunder was. Tom Cruise was even nominated for an award for his role in the film. But I couldn’t shake the one thing that kept me from watching it – Ben Stiller.

Not enough that he was starring in it, but he was also the director. That makes it a double Ben Stiller threat as far as I am concerned since I am not a Ben Stiller fan in the slightest. Quite the opposite. I can’t think of a single one of his films that I enjoyed. While I don’t mind stupid, leave-your-brain-at-the-door entertainment, his films remind me of frat boy humor that I could never get down with even when I was that age. Let’s just call Ben Stiller an eclectic taste. One I don’t have or share.

Despite all that I still watched Tropic Thunder. And I kind of liked it.

In my opinion the film would have tanked without Robert Downey Jr. and Tom Cruise playing their hilarious, over-the-top characters. Other than those two there was just the usual Ben Stiller silliness mixed with an okay script with occasionally great dialogue.

Nothing to write home about I thought as the film was almost over. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood to watch this. And then the last scene played out. A scene with Tom Cruise’s crazy studio head – dancing. I almost peed my pants. If there is one scene stealer in this it was him. The credits were a hoot and gave the viewer a hilarious and satisfied pat on the back as the rest of the credits rolled.

Overall a decent film that didn’t live up to expectations. Robert Downey Jr. and Tom Cruise make it worthwhile and I am not opposed to give another viewing a go.

Leave a Reply

Categories

