Posted by: da_nibbler | April 11, 2009

Showtime Not Picking Up ‘The Farm’!

What already didn’t seem very likely, Showtime picking up The L Word spinoff The Farm from producer Ilene Chaiken, now totally went down the toilet.

According to Variety Showtime passed on all its pilot orders, including The Farm. Sad news especially for the lesbian community given The L Word was the only show centering on lesbian characters on television and The Farm could have picked up the mantle. But Showtime said no.

The 20-minute presentation for the women-in-prison drama saw The L Word’s Alice, played by Leisha Hailey, being welcomed into the Humboldt State Farm possibly for being convicted of killing Jenny, whose death/murder was left unresolved in the series finale of The L Word in March.

As we reported last December, Famke Janssen, Laurie Metcalfe and Oscar Nominee Melissa Leo had guest roles in the pilot presentation with a high possibility of becoming series regulars. But even that apparently wasn’t enough. Now I can eat my words of hope I wrote the last time I blogged about this:

“With several well-known actresses attached and an already established solid fanbase I would not bet on Showtime saying no to The Farm just yet.”

Guess I was wrong. Shame.

Responses

  1. SHOWTIME CAN KISS MY ASS! The L Word was the best thing for lesbians and bisexuals! I loved watching it and it made me open up to who I really was in life! Once I heard about the spin off i was excited but now showtime just really pisses me the fuck off! BRING “THE FARM” TO ONLINE! FUCK SHOWTIME! THE INTERNET IS BETTER!!!!!

  2. I know how you feel. But I also had the impression that The Farm wasn’t very promising. And given the crap Ilene Chaiken did with TLW especially in the last season I was sort of glad to have it be over.
    There will be something new. I know Nancy-Lee Myatt is currently working on a sci-fi show for the lesbian community. Given her track record I have high hopes. Let’s keep our fingers crossed for that one 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

