Posted by: da_nibbler | April 14, 2009

‘Terminator’ Series Canceled?

Ausiello has heard from various sources that “Fox will not be renewing Terminator: The [sic] Sarah Connor Chronicles for a third season.”

No official word on the cancelation yet, but signs are not boding well for the struggling Fox series. I have to admit I am not sad to see it go given the continuity problems the series added to the Terminator franchise.

Bear with me on that for a sec and let me explain:

As if having an ongoing TV series set in the same universe as three already released films (Terminator 1 – 3), while not adhering to all three film’s history, isn’t problematic, confusing and annoying enough for fans of said franchise, this summer will see the release of yet another Terminator film – Terminator Salvation – that is rumored to spark a new trilogy of films based on the successful film series.

Just like the TV series the new trilogy will not recognize the existence of all three previously released films in the franchise. Only keeping to the Cameron Terminator films the new trilogy centers on adult John Connor, played by Christian Bale, and his fight against the machines. While I can’t wait to see the latest installment in one of my favorite film series I am also concerned about continuity errors with the already released material. When the viral site skynetresearch for Terminator Salvation went online I immediately had to check it out. The trailers and everything looked promising and the constant reassurance that McG won’t reinvent Terminator and go with the already established mythology and history put me at ease and quelled my fears considering the new film.

But then I looked a bit closer at that viral site and I was shocked. Wasn’t Skynet a system invented by Cyberdyne Corporation? The system Skynet, that achieved conscious thought and went rogue and obliterated almost all of mankind? Why is the company called Skynet all of a sudden? Marketing campaign fuck up? General, new Terminator film fuck up? A virus on the viral site?

Whatever it is I know I wasn’t the only one noticing that and being immediately concerned about it. It amped my worries about the new installment to new heights. Thank you viral site. Thank you marketing campaign. I am bracing myself for May 22, getting ready to maybe have to curse McG’s name for all eternity for fucking up one of my fav film series.

And while I’m on a negative note, there is one thing I will miss about Terminator – The Sarah Connor Chronicles: not having the gorgeous Lena Headey in my livingroom on a weekly basis. Quite a downer indeed.

Responses

  1. I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A THIRD TERMINATOR SERIES BACAUSE THE SECOND SERIES ENDED WITH JOHN GETTING SENT TO THE FUTURE.I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS TO HIM

  2. am a huge fun of terminator hope their come up with the third season


Leave a Reply

Categories

