Posted by: da_nibbler | July 26, 2009

SDCC: Asimov’s ‘Foundation’ Getting Adapted

Seems like one of my most favorite book series of all time will finally be made into a series of films.

ComingSoon had the chance to chat with Roland Emmerich about his upcoming release 2012 at San Diego Comic Con and didn’t shy away from this opportunity to ask the blockbuster director about his adaptation of Isaac Asmiov’s sci-fi-epic Foundation. Oscar-nominated writer Robert Rodat (Saving Private Ryan, The Patriot) has been hired to adapt it.

“‘Foundation’ is my first attempt to do a series of movies, because we’re developing three movies: ‘Foundation,’ ‘Foundation and Empire’ and ‘Second Foundation’,” he told ComingSoon. “It took me a long time to actually wait for the moment where the rights were totally free and we got them all, it’s like 11 books, and we own the title ‘Foundation’ and also some of the robot novels and now we can really do these. I just hired a very good writer, the writer of ‘Saving Private Ryan’ who wrote ‘The Patriot’ for me and he’s incredible. He is the most knowledgeable person I ever met about the ‘Foundation’ novels. It’s great to write with somebody like that because there’s no, ‘I’ll just look in the book and see what’s there’… he knows it. I had a certain idea and he had a certain idea and that together I think will make this a movie.”

I would have wished for a more sophisticated and cerebral (less silly actiony and blockbustery) director, but I’ll take what I can get. If it blows the studio will try and reboot it after a few years anyways.

Leave a Reply

Categories

